West Central Florida MPO Chairs Coordinating Committee

Regional Transportation Planning

Florida’s transportation challenge lies in finding innovative ways to get people where they want to go – easily, efficiently, economically, and with concern for our region’s fragile and unique environment. For many Florida communities, this task has become particularly challenging because of the dramatic growth in population and tourism during the last decade.

The Chairs Coordinating Committee (CCC) serves eight counties: Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Sarasota.  The CCC is an effort to address the transportation challenge on a regional, long – range basis. Issues such as personal mobility, access to jobs, goods movement, emergency evacuation, and growth management are some of the concerns addressed by the CCC, which is made up of the chairpersons from Metropolitan Planning Organizations and Transportation Planning Organizations (MPOs and TPOs) and their affiliated, transportation-related organizations.

The CCC meets quarterly.  Meeting agendas and minutes are available here.

A Joint Citizens Advisory Committee serves the CCC.